Things I’ve learned from being a SAHM

Being a stay at home mom is a hard job. Now that I’ve been a SAHM for 6 months now, I’ve said goodbye to peaceful showers, uninterrupted lunchtimes, sleeping in, ‘sick days’, and running ‘quick’ errands. There is no such thing as a quick errand when u have to pack a diaper bag, feed, change, burp, and load up a baby…. not to mention, lugging around a 22 lb infant! What used to be simple tasks now take at least an hour to complete, if not more! However, I have learned to prioritize. I know that during nap time I can either (A.) take a nap (B.) clean (C.) do laundry (D.) shower (E.) do yard work (F.) play with the dog (G.) write a blog post… And the list goes on!

I don’t get nearly as much time to myself as I  used to. I don’t get to clock out for lunch or at 5pm to spend the rest of the night ‘relaxing’ with my family–my job never ends. I have an infant that is nearly attached to me. When I do go out, I can’t be gone for longer than 2.5 – 3 hours. I never went back to work, therefore, my baby won’t take a bottle.

He’s a boy who needs his Mama.

A boy who does not like to fall asleep anywhere but in his Mama’s arms.

A boy who wants Mama cuddles when he’s teething.

A boy who cries out for his Mama when he’s had a bad dream.

A boy who just LOVES his Mama. 

Being a stay at home Mom is a hard job…but an oh-so-very-rewarding-job!! I wouldn’t trade these moments for anything.

I love reaping the many benefits to staying at home:

I have a boy who needs his Mama.

A boy who does not like to fall asleep anywhere but in his Mama’s arms.

A boy who wants Mama cuddles when he’s teething.

A boy who cries out for his Mama when he has a bad dream.

A boy who just LOVES his Mama. 

See the trend? 😛

I get to be there to experience all of his ‘firsts’. The first time he smiled, the first time he laughed, the first time he rolled over, the first time he pet our dog, the first time he played in the grass, the oh-so-many-firsts every child experiences. I get to be there for him ALL. THE. TIME.

Are there days I don’t know what ‘silence’ means? yes.

Are there days I count down the time until my Hubby is home? yes.

Are there days I go shopping  (with my babe in tow) just to get out of the house? yes.

Have I become an awesome multi-tasker? yes. (cut veggies, tickle baby. dust wine rack, make silly face. fold laundry, change dirty dipe. shampoo hair, play peek-a-boo with the shower door. you get the point.)

Are there days I regret choosing to stay home? NO.

IMG_6251

Preston and I have gotten SO great at tackling everyday! We have our daily routines. I think our routines keep us both sane. 🙂 We have playtime, nap time, we take walks, go to the gym, play with the dog, go to the farmers market, get groceries…speaking of getting groceries, I can’t even remember that last time I drove to the grocery store. I have the luxury of walking to the grocery store, it makes life so much easier loading Preston {and the groceries} into the stroller, rather than having to worry about loading and unloading the car!

I look forward to every day with my boy! …even though some days–cocktail hour can’t come soon enough! 😛

IMG_6039

{{{We really just need a shout-out to all Mom’s in general. It’s the hardest MOST REWARDING job. ever.}}}

Leave a Reply

