Handmade Dog Car Seat Cover

I recently purchased a new vehicle {named Ruby} and decided it was time to invested in a nice car seat cover to prolong the life of my new seats. However, after searching the internet for a nice seat cover, I couldn’t find anything less than about $85 dollars. Are you serious?! To me, that seemed a little ridiculous for something my cute hairy and sometimes cuddly dirty dog would make a home on during long car rides.

After much research I finally decided it was time to bust out my sewing machine and make one.

{Keep in mind, this was my FIRST EVER sewing project!}

**well, other than making barbie pillows with my mom when I was little**

Now, isn’t this the cutest dog car seat cover you’ve ever seen?!? 🙂

Handmade Dog Seat Cover

Here is a list of supplies you’ll need:

4 yards duck fabric {it’s nice and heavy duty} 2 yards for the top & 2 yards duck fabric for the bottom Make sure each of them is 54 inches in width.

Cotton Batting – I bought enough to fold it in half so there was double the padding

4 one inch plastic buckles

4 yards of one inch cotton strapping

thread

pins

and of course, a sewing machine!

First, I laid out 2 yards of the duck fabric on the carpet, placed the cotton batting on top of that {in order to cut it down to the right size}.

IMG_0982

I made sure the leave about an inch around the edges…

IMG_0983

Next, fold the edges of the Duck Fabric over about a 1/2 an inch – and then fold it over one more time and pin.

IMG_0988

continue to go around the edges of the fabric keeping the ‘folding’ consistent.

IMG_0985

Once you’ve got all of the edges pinned, it should look like this:

IMG_0999

I made sure to mitre the corners {they’re not perfect but I didn’t think Bentley would mind} 🙂

IMG_7569

Once you’re done pinning, you’re ready to start sewing! Finally, you want to have your sewing machine on a counter or a larger surface so you have somewhere to rest the blanket to make for an easy slide under the sewing machine.

THis is what the edges looked like when I was finished:

IMG_7575

As you can see, my pup was already a huge fan:

Handmade Car Seat Cover by healthyhappyhearts

This was made to fit a small SUV.

Once the seat cover was finished, I took it out to my vehicle to pin on the straps. I used 1 yard of the cotton strapping for each buckle. Also, when you’re sewing on the straps make sure to run it under the sewing machine back and forth a few times for a sturdy hold.

Bentley couldn’t wait to test it out!!

Bentley

This was so much fun to make and I think it turned out pretty darn cute, too 🙂

11 thoughts on “Handmade Dog Car Seat Cover

    • It’s a duck twill fabric. I just picked it up at wal-mart. It’s very durable and is tightly woven so it holds up really well and hasn’t faded with washing and it is water resistant. After I wash it I hang it up to dry and it dries fairly quick for being a ‘blanket’.

      Like

Leave a Reply

